About Us

Association History

The Society of Rehabilitation Counsellors (SORC) was founded in NSW on the campus of the Cumberland College of Health Sciences, Glebe by students of the Associate Diploma in Rehabilitation Counselling who completed their first years in 1974 and 1975. These two groups were banded together to do second year in 1976 and in that year formed SORC.

Historically, SORC ® was established through individual state-based Incorporated Associations, and a representative ‘National’ body (ASORC ®) was also responsible for the Journal. Each State body was responsible for their own membership and organisational management including complying with local authorities on the running of their organisation.

In July 2000 the Society was incorporated in the State of NSW as the Australian Society of Rehabilitation Counsellors Inc.

In 2004 the States voted to merge into one National body under the banner of ASORC ®.

From 1976 to 1990 a number of people held the role of President either in the original SORC, which began in NSW, or in subsequent State branches of SORC. Included in that list are Mary Hawkins, Susan Kable, Maurine Edwards, Malcolm Ross, Peter Harris, Judith Laurie, Therese Rein, Josephine Dowsett, Bronte Earl, Peter Scott, Stephen Pearce and Michael Reardon.

If any names have been omitted from this list, ASORC ® would be only too happy to recognise the significant contribution those individuals made to the advancement of this professional association.

Presidents Honour Roll

2007 to current Michael Iacovino
2003 to 2006 Angela Ilic
2002 Jos Rennie
2000 and 2001 Pearl Donaldson
1999 Mike Hancock
1997 and 1998 Trevor Hawkins
1996 Mike Hancock
1995 Michael Reardon
1994 Trevor Hawkins
1991 to 1993 Fran Feldman