ASORC Competencies

Rehabilitation Counselling is a diverse profession which involves a unique blend of skill and knowledge related to areas such as disability, rehabilitation, injury management, vocational assessment, counselling, trauma and case management.

In order to obtain and maintain ASORC membership, members must meet designated competency clusters relevant to their level of membership.

Competency Clusters

There are five competency clusters:

  1. Foundational Knowledge & Skills
  2. Counselling Interventions within the Rehabilitation Context
  3. Vocational Assessment
  4. Vocational Counselling, Training and Placement
  5. Long-term Disability & Significant Impairment


The competencies:

  1. Serve as a model for employers in determining the skills, knowledge and behaviours required of Rehabilitation Counsellors.
  2. A guide for educators to determine appropriate training curricula.
  3. Supervision guidance for the supervision of Affiliate and Associate members.
  4. Membership criteria for assessment of applications in addition to qualifications and experience.


In 1995 ASORC developed a set of core competencies to clarify the depth and variety of the skills and knowledge necessary to effectively operate as a rehabilitation counsellor. These core competencies encompassed 15 broad areas within which rehabilitation counsellors were deemed to be able to display specific skill and knowledge.

In 2008 a comprehensive review of the core competencies was undertaken by Trevor Hawkins and Jan Nunan after consultation with key stakeholders. The Core Competencies for the Profession of Rehabilitation Counselling (Second Edition) was ratified by the ASORC Council in November 2008 and published in February 2009 and were available to all members and interested parties. A third edition was released in 2014 and a fourth edition was released in 2015.

After an extensive review throughout 2019 and 2020 the fifth latest edition was ratified by the ASORC Board and released in 2020.

ASORC Competencies booklet